Struck By Lightning

by Monique Franz

A big publisher and guest speaker once shared the alarming probability of a novice writer being picked up by a publisher. As I understood it, and she might have even said it, getting published was on par with getting struck by lightning. As discouragement threatened to take hold, I decided I had two choices—give up or get struck.

It wasn’t impossible to be struck by lightning, I decided. Lightning strikes the Empire State Building up to twenty times a year. In Venezuela, lightning strikes Lake Maracaibo up to 28 times a minute. Maybe I could fly a kite in the rain like Ben Franklin. I wondered, how to foster conditions to be published again and again and again?

In 2021, I graduated and timidly submitted my work to a handful of contests, agents, and publishers. After five months, I received my first publication. My short story, “The Lighthouse Point, was a finalist in a writing competition. Then, I published an essay in Disruptive Quarterly. The biggest win happened in 2022 when Blue Moon Plays published my series, Legacy of a Father. Three small strikes in one year.

I took note of the conditions that led to the small wins and came to a few big conclusions.

EXCUSES WON’T GET THE WRITING DONE

I grew tired of my own excuses for not writing. My teaching job zapped my energy. Pages remained blank because the classroom fried my brain. So, I found a less demanding role and quit my job. I don’t recommend you quit your job to solve your writer’s block, but I do recommend making life adjustments to prioritize your writing goals. Otherwise, don’t kid yourself that you have any goals at all.

CAPITALIZE ON THE SEASON

“To everything there is a season” (wise words from King Solomon). There’s a time to write, a time to present your work, a time to revise because your ass was handed back to you in feedback. And after a few eye-crossing revisions, there’s a time to be published. I published thrice in one year because I prioritized my writing and kept my kite out for opportunities to strike.

FOCUS ON THE BIG SEA, NOT JUST THE BIG FIVE

There’s an ocean of publishers. The Big Five Publishers look for big fish who will bring in millions of dollars. I’m not a big fish yet, so I’ll feed at the bottom, entering contests, submitting to online periodicals, seeing what works and what doesn’t. With every small publication, I grow as a fish.

GET IN THE PROVERBIAL WATER

Lightning happens most near water. Get connected to the wave makers: agents, publishers, successful authors. Wilkes’ creative writing program connects you with industry leaders who will show you the way. Sure, approaching them is intimidating, but lightning strikes with the right connectivity. As Lin-Manuel Miranda admonishes, be in the room where it happens. Attend writing conferences, fellowships, workshops—find the industry water and get in it!

In January, I held my first humble royalty check, knowing that it was just the beginning. I have no doubt lightning will strike again and again. I’m on my fourth novel revision while working on a collection of short stories. This summer, I’m launching an online publication as a platform for myself and other BIPOC authors. I’m running in a storm with my proverbial kite, learning how to catch the wind currents. I’m listening for thunder, no matter how scared I feel, no matter how small or large the rumble. I will continue to refine my craft and put my work out there, no matter how foolish I look with a kite in the rain.

Monique Franz (M.F.A. 2021) is a rocking mama of four and published author for the stage and page. She has written, directed, and performed for music and theatre productions around the globe. For over twenty years, she has served in humanitarian and missions work, and believes her mid-life crisis sparked exciting years of rock-n-roll performance and daring post-pastoral fiction. Her recent publications include: Legacy of a Father by Blue Moon Plays; “Raising a Daughter, Not a Doll” by Disruptive Quarterly; and “The Lighthouse Point” by Women on Writing.

One thought on “Struck By Lightning

Leave a comment